Quote from: Tronpo on November 13, 2025, 09:19:27 AM[cita autor=odin enlace=msg=60153 fecha=1763017027] No me gusta que la aplicación se desactive sola si no se instala una nueva versión, hay formas mucho mejores de manejar esto, como ventanas emergentes molestas, estaba en un rastro remoto y fui a revisar mis mapas, pero me acerqué la interfaz de usuario. Luego, cuando volví, intenté migrar todos mis datos a la versión gp, pero cuando desinstalé la versión beta, de alguna manera todos mis datos se borraron, años de pistas y fotos, logré deshacer algunos, pero los nombres de los archivos se borraron, por lo que nunca volverán a orux... Decidiendo si debería cambiar a locus, ya que estoy empezando de nuevo... Toda esta causa del cierre de la fuerza. [/cita]
Hello, the beta version has been warning for weeks that it will expire with a pop-up window at each login, didn't you skip the warning? On my Android when I go to delete the app it asks me if I want to delete the data from the app. Personally I would not leave my valuable data in an app that is a trial version, precisely because it is a trial version all the risks it entails.
PS: I'm sorry you lost your valuable data honestly, don't you use the backup option in Drive?
Nah, I have slow internet and especially slow upload, so I don't back up to drive, I did actually have a recent backup, but the harddrive failed that was on last month :X, and tbh it's kind of my fault I lost the data, since usually I rename the folder when I uninstall orux as it happened before in the past, somehow I just spaced it out, I don't think it used to an issue when it was on the sdcard/oruxmaps, but when its in the data/media folder it uninstalls with the program.
I probably could've recovered the files, but again I stupidly wrote a 1gb mapsforge map to the sdcard which ultimately permanently erased some files which probably could have been undeleted, I was able to salvage most tracklogs and tracklog.db though.
I dont recall getting the old beta message on the latest beta, it's been a week or two since I used orux, maybe it expired before it could show the message, but yeah I like orux but just stopping the program from running is not a good tactic especially for scenarios / lost/ sos ..etc and the gap between the GP and beta is pretty large so to migrate back is a pity, and running two versions is a hassle.
Also it's a shame orux couldn't implement some mechanism in the beta which allows it to continue to run for people who bought the GP version, this way the beta wouldn't expire for paid users who want to stay on the latest version.
.